When Virginia worker is hurt on the job or develops a disease because of their occupation, they can seek compensation through the state’s workers’ compensation system. Workers who become temporarily or permanently unable to perform their jobs are eligible to obtain medical benefits and compensation for a portion of their lost pay under this system Businesstodaysnews.
Our legal team has noticed, however, that it is not always straightforward to qualify for and receive these benefits. As a general rule, claims for workers’ compensation are not automatically approved. To learn more, continue reading till the end.
In this article, we will go over seven common explanations for claim rejections:
1. Failing to Inform Your Employer of an Accident
Your employer needs to know right away if you suffer any kind of injury or illness on the job, no matter how minor it may seem. In fact, if you do not notify your employer within 30 days, you may lose your eligibility for workers’ compensation payments.
You shouldn’t wait the full 30 days Famousmagazinenow, though. As soon as an injury or sickness is recognised, action should be taken.
If you are injured suddenly on the job, it is imperative that you notify your immediate supervisor immediately so that you can receive prompt medical attention. It’s important to follow up with your employer as soon as possible. If you become ill because of your employment, it’s important to let your boss know right away.
Keep a duplicate of the written notice that you give to your employer. You’ll need this extra copy for your personal files. You will be prepared to dispute any claim denials based on a lack of sufficient or timely notice.
2. Missing the Deadline to File for Workers’ Compensation
You have up to two years from the date of injury knowcarupdate or illness to submit a claim with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission, as per Va. Code Ann. 65.2-601. The statute of limitations for filing a claim in this matter is two years from the date on which the cause of action accrued.
Your company must report your injury or illness to the Commission within 10 days of receiving notice from you. Though your employer may have done so before, the Commission advises you to do so nevertheless.